Club champions crowned

The 2023 club championship finals took place in mid-September, with some brilliant contests and worthy champions crowned. We had a bumper entry in the adult categories, with matches taking place across the summer. Many thanks to everyone for getting all the rounds completed on time.

Men’s doubles champions Michael Moores and Greg Collins, right, and runners-up Jack Wild and Tom Brandrick

Greg Collins had a very busy weekend, beating Michael Moores in an epic men’s singles final before they teamed up to defeat Tom Brandrick and Jack Wild in the men’s doubles final, with Greg also runner-up in the mixed doubles with Pam Bracewell.

Under-12s champion George Whalley

We also have lots of future stars on our hands judging by the junior categories. There was a triple triumph for coach Rick’s sons, with George winning the under-12s and Toby the under-9s and under-10s. Henry Davies came out on top in both the under-16 boys’ singles and doubles, while his older sister Marla won the ladies’ singles. Many congratulations to all the winners.

Women’s singles champion Marla Davies, right and runner-up Eleanor Crooks

Men’s singles: Greg Collins

Women’s singles: Marla Davies

Men’s doubles: Greg Collins and Michael Moores

Women’s doubles: Emma Eastwood and Helen Marshall

Mixed doubles: Eleanor Crooks and Duncan Smith

Over-50s men’s singles: Andy Collins

Over-50s men’s doubles: Mark Fitton and Brian Little

Under-8s: Flynn Smith

Under-9s: Toby Whalley

Under-10s: Toby Whalley

Under-12 boys: George Whalley

Under-12 girls: Sienna Davies

Under-16 boys’ singles: Henry Davies

Under-16 girls’ singles: Lucy Mounter

Under-16 boys’ doubles: Henry Davies and Isaac Moore

Under-16 girls’ doubles: Alice Cotton and Grace Cotton

Men’s over-50s singles champion Andy Collins
Women’s doubles champions Emma Eastwood, left, and Helen Marshall
Mixed doubles champions Eleanor Crooks, left, and Duncan Smith
Over-50s men’s doubles champions Mark Fitton, left, and Brian Little
Under-16 boys’ singles champion Henry Davies
Under-9s champion Toby Whalley
Under-16s boys’ doubles champions Henry Davies, left, and Isaac Moore
Under-8s champion Flynn Smith, right, and runner-up Jack Tattersall